Why Muffhens Products are Gluten-Free

Why Muffhens Products are Gluten-Free

Long gone are the days where people can eat a baked good without first asking, “Is that gluten-free?” The time and stress questioning every single thing that you’d like to eat is truly frustrating.

Fortunately with Muffhens Bakery, you don’t have to question whether or not you can eat anything that we provide. Here’s why we are 100% gluten-free.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye and spelt. Gluten derives from the Latin word glutinum meaning “glue;” giving flour a sticky consistency when mixed with water. The glue-like properties help gluten create a sticky network that gives bread the ability to rise when baked and gives a chewy and satisfying texture.

Why Are We Gluten-Free?

Over 3 million people have been diagnosed with celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that affects the digestive process of the small intestine. When the gluten protein enters the body, your immune system responds by attacking the small intestine and inhibiting the absorption of important nutrients into the body, in other words there is inflammation and damages cells within the small intestine. If a person with celiac disease goes undiagnosed or untreated, the damaged intestinal cells lose their ability to absorb nutrients, and serious health problems may ensue.

More than 20 million people have a gluten sensitivity. People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity do not test positive for celiac disease but they have adverse effects when consuming gluten. Symptoms of non-celiac gluten sensitivity are similar to those of celiac disease and include recurring abdominal pain, chronic diarrhea/constipation, tingling/numbness in hands and feet, chronic fatigue, joint pain, unexplained infertility and low bone density, bloating, changes in bowel motions, and eczema or a rash.

As a family that knows all too well the life of living with life-threatening food allergies, we at Muffhens strive to serve our community and beyond. All of our products are gluten-free and are happy to help you enjoy delicious breakfast and dessert baked good options!

What Types of Foods Contain Gluten?

The main sources of gluten are:

  • Wheat-based foods like wheat bran, wheat flour, spelt, durum, kamut and semolina
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast

Foods that have gluten added to them are:

  • Bread. All wheat-based bread.
  • Pasta. All wheat-based pasta.
  • Cereals. Unless labeled gluten-free.
  • Baked goods. Cakes, cookies, muffins, pizza, bread crumbs and pastries.
  • Snack foods. Candy, muesli bars, crackers, pre-packaged convenience foods, roasted nuts, flavored chips and popcorn, pretzels.
  • Sauces. Soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, hoisin sauce, marinades, salad dressings.
  • Beverages. Beer, flavored alcoholic beverages.
  • Other foods. Couscous, broth (unless labeled gluten-free).

What Are Some Gluten-Free Options?

  • Fruits and vegetables. All fruits and vegetables are naturally free of gluten.
  • Grains. Quinoa, rice, buckwheat, tapioca, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, arrowroot, teff and oats (if labeled gluten-free).
  • Starches and flours. Potatoes, potato flour, corn, corn flour, chickpea flour, soy flour, almond meal/flour, coconut flour and tapioca flour.
  • Spreads and oils. All vegetable oils and butter.
  • Herbs and spices. All herbs and spices.
  • Beverages. Most beverages, except for beer (unless labeled as gluten-free).Meats and fish. All meats and fish, except battered or coated meats.
  • Nuts and seeds. All nuts and seeds.
  • Eggs. All types of eggs are naturally gluten-free.
  • Dairy. Plain dairy products, such as plain milk, plain yogurt and cheeses. However, flavored dairy products may have added ingredients that contain gluten, so you will need to read the food labels.

What Products Can I Purchase to Bake Gluten-Free at Home?

  • Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1-to-1 Baking Flour (by far our fave).
  • King Arthur Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
  • Krusteaz Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
  • Pillsbury Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
  • Good & Gather Gluten Free Flour

These products can be purchased at your local grocery stores.

Our Advice to Those With Celiac Disease or Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity?

  • When shopping at the store, review all food labels. 
  • Subscribe to F.A.R.E. They have tons of information regarding the top 8 allergies and send alerts via email on foods that recently tested positive for common allergens, and contain the affected allergen, company, product, and affected states.
  • Before eating out, check the menu and call the restaurant to see if they can accommodate your dietary restrictions, and ask how they prep food.
  • Search out local vegan and plant-based markets; they will more than likely offer gluten-free options.
  • Tell your friends. If your friends know that you have a restrictive diet, they’re more likely to choose places with gluten-free options when you eat out.
  • Buy a gluten-free cookbook. Doing so may help you be more creative with your cooking and make meals more enjoyable.
  • Plan ahead. If you’re traveling abroad, make sure you research places to eat and shop. Otherwise, plan your diet around plenty of whole, single-ingredient foods like lean meats, vegetables and fruit.
  • Use separate cooking utensils. If you share a kitchen with friends or family members, make sure you use separate cooking and cleaning equipment. You don’t want to accidentally contaminate your foods with gluten from other people’s food.
  • Bring your own food.

Happy Eating Muffriends!

Newer Post